Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



The UGA Psychology Department is committed to fostering a safe, welcoming, supportive, and inclusive environment for all students, faculty and staff. Attention to issues of cultural competence, diversity, and inclusion are represented in the Department’s training and research missions. Diversity and inclusive practice greatly enhance the learning environment, the quality of our research, and the culture of the department. We recognize that we are enriched and strengthened by multiple views, perspectives, and backgrounds.

Our departmental diversity committee, which spearheads these efforts consists of faculty, students, and staff. Current committee members include faculty, staff, and students: Malissa Clark, Elizabeth Davis, Dominique La Barrie, Isha Metzger, Kacy Morris, Anne Shaffer, Allison Skinner, and Latisha Swygert. The committee assists in recruitment and retention of traditionally underrepresented students and faculty, sponsors Department-wide seminars on topics related to diversity and inclusion, and acts as an advocate for departmental diversity.

See below for more information about relevant coursework, research, and faculty engagement in diversity and inclusion in the Department of Psychology.




Please visit the Psychology Undergraduate Mentoring Program (PUMP) page for information on opportunities for undergraduates from historically underrepresented backgrounds to receive mentoring in the field of psychology by graduate students in the UGA Department of Psychology.

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.